Thursday 6 March 2014

Activity Life Cycle and version history


1) Starting State:

When an activity does not yet exist in memory, it is in the starting state.
2) Resumed/Running State:

An activity that is in the foreground is in the running state. Any activity that is currently on the screen and interacting with the user is the running activity at that particular point in time. It exists at the top of the Activity stack.
3) Paused State:

When an activity is not in focus (i.e. not interacting with the user), but is still visible on the screen, it is in the Paused state.
4) Stopped State:

An activity that is not visible on the screen, but exists in the memory is in the Stopped State.
5) Destroyed State:

A Destroyed activity results from the removal of an activity (that is no longer required) from the memory. Such removals generally occur, when the activity manager decides that there is no use for such activities anymore.

 version history

Android 1.0 (API level 1)
Android 1.1 (API level 2)
Android 1.5 Cupcake (API level 3)
Android 1.6 Donut (API level 4)
Android 2.0 Eclair (API level 5)
Android 2.0.1 Eclair (API level 6)
Android 2.1 Eclair (API level 7)
Android 2.2–2.2.3 Froyo (API level 8)
Android 2.3–2.3.2 Gingerbread (API level 9)
Android 2.3.3–2.3.7 Gingerbread (API level 10)
Android 3.0 Honeycomb (API level 11)
Android 3.1 Honeycomb (API level 12)
Android 3.2 Honeycomb (API level 13)
Android 4.0–4.0.2 Ice Cream Sandwich (API level 14)
Android 4.0.3–4.0.4 Ice Cream Sandwich (API level 15)
Android 4.1 Jelly Bean (API level 16)
Android 4.2 Jelly Bean (API level 17)
Android 4.3 Jelly Bean (API level 18)
Android 4.4 KitKat (API level 19)

No comments: